Middle-Class Family Man 

The skies wore a different hue

Never seen my home from this perspective

My eyesight faltered

Seemed like I was having a bad hangover.
The day had begun no different than the day before,

My kids played in the grass,

My wife, oh! my beautiful wife, with her tresses so glorious  

She was there, teaching them to read the skies .
I went on, feeding to the day’s routine.

To do my duties as a breadwinner.

Chased, ran the rat race and won.

At least, I thought I did.
A loud noise struck me,

The earth trembled, I fell….
The predator had got to me

The day we feared had come

I ran, led them away from my family.

Gave them a “Glorious Chase”
This is no hangover!

Where is the blood coming from?

Why is my world upside down?

Or is it me looking up?!
A corner of my eye caught my lair,

My family safe, weeping but safe.

My kids perplexed, my wife strong.

Only I know she wore a mask that day.
My predator thought he’d won

Thought he captured the prey

Little did he know 

It wasn’t he who won, but me. 

As a father,

A husband,

A Lion.

Based on the old proverb-

“Until the Lion learns to write, every song will glorify the hunter.”

Author: Philip NJ

Bengaluru huduga.

Leave a Reply

